Non-resolutions and local food

2014

Evidently, 2014 is going to be the year of putting my money where my mouth is. Through no real effort of my own, things just seem to be working out that way. For example, I’m moving closer to downtown/my office – close enough that I can really be a full-time bike commuter. More exercise, less time spent in horrible Phoenix traffic, and less money spent on gas… I like it!

Also, I’ve decided – after months of deliberation – to give up on Verizon and switch to Virgin Mobile. I mean, $80+/month for a cell phone? That’s ridiculous. For slightly more than half the price, I’ll get the same data and text package and MORE minutes with Virgin. Sweet.

And finally, I actually signed up for a CSA! I’m all about local food, but I’ve been disappointed with the farmers’ markets around here. Despite the fact that Arizona actually grows tons of produce (who knew?), the markets seem to specialize in baked goods, various relishes, and expensive dog treats. I had a CSA box once before (well, actually, my mom had one which she graciously shared with me). I loved it, but it took me a while to actually get one for myself, by myself. I wanted organic produce, so I shopped around and found Chow Locally. This is the perfect farm box for me! Everything is organic or organically grown, AND – this is the best part – you get to see what’s in your box ahead of time each week and then decide if you want it! This Saturday was my first pickup. Here’s what came in my box:

  • Black Spanish radishes
  • Green onions
  • Winterbor kale
  • Lacinato kale
  • Purple turnips
  • Spicy arugula
  • Grapefruit
  • Rapini
Photo courtesy of Chow Locally

Photo courtesy of Chow Locally

How fun! Since I usually cook on the weekends so I have food for the week, here’s what I’ve made so far.

The grapefruits I’ve just been eating plain, and I have yet to use the green onions and turnips. But, oh! What a happy fridge (and tummy) I have!

What have the first 14 days of 2014 brought your way so far?

Leave a Reply

